My thoughts on Jodi Picoult

So my sister gave me the book Change of Heart by Jodi Picoult to read and I have to say I’m having a hard time getting through the book. I find this story to be very repetitive and it drags on about the same thing in places where it doesn’t need to. I love a book with different perspectives but in this case. I constantly have to remind myself how a character is related to the other and then how its related to the story as a whole. Which as a reader it is very annoying having to go back and forth while trying to get into a story. By the way this isn’t the first time I’ve experienced this while reading something by Jodi Picoult. I also read her short story where there’s smoke and I was so disappointed. I understand its hard to get your point across in a short story but if your not going to do it successfully then it shouldn’t be done at all. She had 35 pages to give us something interesting. Yet she gives us a story about Serenity Jones a tv personality who has psychic abilities. The entire story is about her helping people on her talk show yet taking advantage of them for fame. Which then compromises her abilities. Its basically like the show Long Island Medium only in book form except Serenity Jones seems extremely unrealistic which I guess is part of the problem.

I’m sad that these are the experiences I had while reading Jodi Picoult. I was hoping to like her as a author but her writing feels rather bland and repetitive. I can predict the ending of the book before even finishing and thats not what you want your readers to do because it causes them to become uninterested. I gave her a try and I just wasn’t interested. Hopefully I will be able to read something else by her one day and like it.

4 thoughts on “My thoughts on Jodi Picoult

  1. I usually really like Jodi Picoult’s novels, but I’ve never read any of the ones that you mentioned, so there’s the possibility that I would feel the same way. Some of hers that I really liked, though, would be The Pact or My Sister’s Keeper.

    1. Yeah for my first experiences it was just terrible. Hmm maybe I will try The Pact. Unfortunately I saw the movie My Sister’s Keeper not knowing that it was a Jodi Picoult book which is sad because it was a great movie so I’m sure it was an amazing book.

      1. Yes, it was a great book! I saw the movie afterwards and it was still a good movie. Yeah, the Pact is really good. Really emotional, too, but then, most of her books are.

Leave a Reply

