Uncategorized

The Young Elites Review

         17984141

I finished this book a while ago but haven’t been able to write a review. Now I must tell you I was extremely excited for this book. I was anticipating the release since Marie Lu announced the book. I don’t know if it’s because I loved her Legend Series so much that I expected something amazing. This book just didn’t live up to that.

“I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside”

Adelina Amouteru survived the blood fever. The deadly illness swept through the nation. Most of those infected by the disease died but those that survived were permanently marked. Adelina Amouteru once had beautiful black tresses. It was now silver, her eyelashes were now pale, and she had a scar where her left eye once was. She is considered a malfetto; ruining her family’s good name which stands in the way of their good fortune. Some of the marked ones were rumored to have more then just scars. They are said to possess mysterious and powerful gifts. Their identities are secret but are known as The Young Elites.

This story could’ve been amazing. But it feels underdeveloped and rushed. I think when you come from a series that is so successful you’re pressured to put out the next success and I’m not saying thats what happened with this book. Since I’m not the writer I can’t say for sure but its how it reads. There are many characters that are introduced but not fleshed out. Some of the characters had no personality. I’m not going to say I don’t recommend this book at all because it’s not completely terrible. There is a good story in there but it just isn’t the best read. I’m hoping as she begins to develop the second book it is more though out and developed. If anything, give it a try and let me know what your thoughts are.

P.S. It is very similar to Leigh Bardugos Grisha Trilogy and if you haven’t read that then you must. Now thats an amazing series. Hopefully I can submit a review soon.

Leave a Reply

