Book of the Week

Book of the Week: Letter To My Daughter by Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou has always been a favorite author of mine and she always will be. I picked up this book one day just browsing at The Strand Bookstore here in NYC. I had never heard of it before which was surprising. I decided to pick it up one because I never read it and two it satisfied one of the categories in the PopSugar Reading Challenge I’m doing this year. Maya Angelou always inspires. Her writing is beautiful and thought provoking. She dedicated this book to the daughter she never had but she saw all around her. Letter to My Daughter reveals Maya Angelou’s path to living well and living a life with meaning. Maya Angelou lived her life boldly and with courage and has been making history for decades. She advises that courage is our greatest attribute and that’s something I would want to live by.

“I gave birth to one child, a son, but I have thousands of daughters. You are Black and White, Jewish and Muslim, Asian and Spanish-speaking, Native American and Aleut. You are fat and thin and pretty and plain, gay and straight, educated and unlettered, and I am speaking to you all. Here is my offering to you,” writes Maya Angelou in the introduction of her book Letter to My Daughter. The following pages are full of stories and life lessons Angelou has learned over eighty years. “I have only included here events and lessons which I have found useful,” the famous poet writes. “I have not told you how I have used the solutions, knowing you are intelligent and creative and resourceful and will use them as you see fit.”

I think as a person especially women we all crave advice from our elders. The women that have come before us and have struggled more then we ever will. They struggled for our future and for our voices. I admire Maya Angelou for everything she’s done for me as a women and writer. She’s one of many that made it possible for us to have a strong, bold, and courageous voice. She speaks with such assurance and ease. These short stories of her experiences will make you feel as though there is someone out there in your corner who understands and is rooting for your success. This is a book that you can constantly reread and get something new from it every time. I highly recommend this book to everyone and if you haven’t read her other work you should.

Leave a Reply

