The Face On The Milk Carton by Caroline B. Cooney

I picked up this book because I saw the lifetime movie a long time ago and I had no idea it was a book first. So I wanted to compare the two. The Face On The Milk Carton is about Janie Johnson; a fifteen year old girl that feels overwhelmed and shocked when she sees a little girls picture on the milk carton at school. Right away she knows the little girl is her. With this new found information her world is turned upside down and she begins to try and figure out if her parents kidnapped her.

Now with a description like this you would think it would be a gripping story. But I honestly didn’t like it. I thought the writing was very bland and there was no dimension to the characters. They needed to be more developed. There was a lot of unnecessary information throughout the entire book which felt like filler. Apparently this book is for kids but I can’t understand why because in my opinion the content is more suited for teens. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone because I feel the writing is so lackluster and it was overly dramatic and poorly written.

The plot idea could be exciting but it seems that Caroline B. Cooney didn’t have the skill or support to execute it because the emotions seem unrealistic and the story bounces from one place to the next without consistency. Throughout the book the author has Janie repeat the same thought over and over. So what should’ve been an interesting story was a complete disaster.

Leave a Reply

