Book Reviews

We Should All Be Feminists by: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

“I would like to ask that we begin to dream about and plan for a different world. A fairer world. A world of happier men and happier women who are truer to themselves. And this is how to start: we must raise our daughters differently. We must also raise our sons differently….”

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie grew up in Nigeria. Her work has been translated into thirty languages and has appeared in a variety of publications. She is the author of the novels Purple Hibiscus,  Half of a Yellow Sun, and Americanah. She has received numerous awards and divides her time between the United States and Nigeria.

This is a published version of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichies Tedx Talk which I found out after I read this. I picked this up because I have her book Americanah on my shelf waiting to be read and since this was short I decided to read it and get an idea of who she is as a writer. I think this is great because it touches on a subject that has become more talked about which is Feminism. Adichie is very direct and talks from her personal experiences in Nigeria. This is a powerful piece because it’s not something filled with statistics or theories. It’s her truth and likely what a lot of other women have experienced. I recommend this to everyone because almost anyone can relate to it. Whether you consider yourself a feminist or not it doesn’t matter. She opens you’re eyes to what it means to her and this is a book that will start a conversation. It’s a new take on a word we hear often. I’m looking forward to reading more from her.

Let me know your thoughts on her book if you’ve read it or on Feminism.

2 thoughts on “We Should All Be Feminists by: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

  1. I’ve heard nothing but awesome things about her work. I’m going to have to check it out soon! Thanks for the awesome review! If you’re ever interested in some other great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

    1. Yeah she’s a great writer. I’m going to read Americanah next. You should definitely check it out. Thanks for checking out my review; I’m glad you liked it. Yeah I will be sure to look at your page and give it a follow. Hopefully you will follow me and keep reading my reviews 🙂 Thanks.

Leave a Reply

