Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children Review

As I sit here at home; looking through my bookshelf I realized there are a number of books I never posted a review for. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children was the #1 New York Times Bestseller. I picked up this book because I was looking for something different and creepy to read.

Synopsis:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography.

This book is interesting. Ransom Riggs created this book because he started collecting vintage snapshots. The kind you come across at a flea market or garage sale. He noticed the most interesting ones were of children and that’s where he began to wonder who these children were which is when the stories began. I think the idea is a great place to start but I honestly expected a lot more. I thought this was going to be amazingly creepy story, especially because of the blurb on the back but that was misleading. I’ve never experienced a book where I expected it to be so much more then it was. The narrative never reaches the level of creepiness and peculiarity as the images it relies on. The characters felt underdeveloped and flat. Intertwining a modern day story with history isn’t easy and it shows in this book because the historical parts are thrown in towards the end and completely changes the story. I recommend this book to children in elementary school; 4th-6th grade because they would find it interesting but I don’t believe it belongs in the YA section. I hope this was helpful. If you have any thought about this book let me know and comment below.

7 thoughts on “Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children Review

    1. Yeah I know what you mean. I had very high expectations when I picked it up. I recommend getting it from the library and trying it out but it is misleading compared to what it’s advertised as #1 NYT Best Seller.

  1. It wasn’t as creepy as I thought it would have been either. On my review, I explain how I would have liked the peculiar children to have been something like young carnies rather than kids with magical prowess. I still enjoyed reading it, but I get what you’re saying. Thanks for the review!

    1. Yeah I never thought of them as carnies but that would’ve been interesting too. Yeah I really wanted to enjoy it more but I didn’t I’m still going to read Hollow City because I’m hoping it gets better and lives up to what I expect. I also saw there is gong to be a 3rd book. I’m going to check out your review now.

      1. I had no idea either. I just happened to come across it yesterday on amazon because I was going to order Hollow City. It’s called Library of Souls and it’s being released September 22.

Leave a Reply

