Book Reviews

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas Review

Hey Everyone

I’m glad to be sitting at my computer right now and writing this review for you. I was stuck for a while trying to write a review for An Ember In The Ashes, and it just wasn’t working out. Let me know if you would like to see a review on that book and I’ll be happy to post one up. But for right now we’re going to talk about Throne of Glass. The following image is of one of my favorite quotes from the book said by the main character Celaena Sardothien.

ThroneofGlassAUSWallpaper1366x768_zpsc64e5100

This book has been sitting on my shelf for a long time now. My brother has been telling me to read it forever and I just kept stalling since I knew it was a long series. But I promised I would start it, and I just finished it last night. I thought it was absolutely amazing and I’ll get into why in a minute but heres the synopsis for you.

Synopsis

        In a world without magic, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the vicious kkingwho rules from his throne of glass but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she will be released from prison to serve as the King’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien. 

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. And a princess from a faraway land will befriend her. But something evil dwells in the castle-and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival-and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

Now lets get into why I loved this book so much. First of all I feel the story is very unique. There are a lot of twists and turns that are completely unexpected and it kept me wanting to turn the page and keep reading. Which is not easy for an author to do and I’ve found that since I’ve read so many books sometimes I can predict who its going to go if the author hasn’t tried to keep me interested. But she definitely keeps you on your toes. In my opinion the main focus isn’t the world she’s created but the characters. This is a very character driven book and I got that while I read because all of her characters were well developed and well placed. We weren’t just introduced to a character for the sake of just adding another person to the mix. Lets talk about my favorite character Celaena Sardothien. She’s the main character in the story and I absolutely loved her. I’m a sucker for a lead female character, but she was completely badass. She was a fully developed, well rounded character. She was snarky, sassy, flirtatious, and vulnerable all at once and that’s one of the things I loved because she felt very real. Anybody would be able to relate to her.

I don’t want to say what my favorite part of the book is but what I loved was how some of these characters seem so broken and messed up but they don’t let it drive them. She created characters that constantly grew and changed throughout the story. There is really nothing I can complain about in this book and I’m about to make a really big comparison. (Drum Roll Please…) This first book took me on the same wild journey the Divergent Series by Veronica Roth took me on and it was good to be able to pick up a book and get that same feeling again and I know thats a big comparison but it’s well deserved. I’m now completely invested in these characters and can’t wait to see what happens next. I’ll be starting Crown of Midnight next which is the next book in the series. Let me know if you would like a review from every book in the series. Which I did find out on Sarah J Maas website that this is a 7 book series. I know thats a lot and I’m the first one to be skeptical about investing so much time in a series but I really think this will be worth it and thats saying a lot since I only read the first book.

I recommend this book to EVERYONE and think all of you should read it. I really think it has something for everyone no matter what genre you like to read. If you’ve read this book already and have any thoughts lets talk about it. Let me know what you think.

14 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas Review

  1. I didn’t connect with this book, but I’m always happy to see other people enjoy books I’ve read. I agree that the story is very character rather than fantasy focused.

    1. Aww that’s to bad but at least you read through it. I always commend someone that still read through a whole book even though they didn’t like it so much. After I wrote this review I read that she wrote the books without a plot in mind. She said she let the characters lead her.

    1. I’m glad you loved it; another person to share this great series with. Right now I’m team Dorian because I feel like I need to see and know more from Chaol. I was heartbroken when she dumped Dorian. What about you? What team are you on?

      1. I’m team Dorian as well, but don’t be heartbroken, they’ll find their way back to each other (: As for Chaol, I do like him too but I see him more as like a protector then a love interest. I think he does care about her but I think they’re better off as close friends

      2. Yeah I’m hoping they will. I definitely agree with you on that. Chaol is more of her protector and I think he does care about her but I feel like he became interested in her because he saw Dorian was, it was like the jealous friend thing to do. Have you started Crown Of Midnight?

Leave a Reply

