Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas Review

I’m so excited! Its been so long since I’ve been able to post a review for you all, and it’s made me upset that I haven’t been around in a while. I’m hoping I now have a handle on my schedule and will be able to post more often. Its taken me a while but I finally finished Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas last week. The following image is of two of my favorite moments in the book and I will tell you why later on.https://readersoasis.wordpress.com/2015/09/22/heir-of-fire-by-sarah-j-maas-review/tumblr_ngj9th1UDk1qkq8tko1_500

rattlethestars

Synopsis

She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.

The king’s assassin takes on an even greater destiny and burns brighter than ever before in this follow-up to the New York Times bestselling Crown of Midnight.

Lets get started. I have so many thoughts and opinions on this book. They may not all be favorable, but as you all know I have to be honest. I have to say I really love the series so far as a whole, but this book wasn’t my favorite. Sarah J Maas is a very skilled writer. It’s amazing that this is a story she created, and worked on since she was 16 years old. It’s very different then a lot of YA books that have been released over the past two years, and thats one of the things I love. She does an amazing job with character development which is where I think she really excels and if you pick up on that as well thats good because I read an interview with her where she said she leads the stories with the characters. Throughout each book you can clearly see how the characters have developed and changed.

One thing I love is that we are constantly getting to know a different side of each character, but especially the lead Celaena Sardothien. I also love who she’s become and how she’s starting to embrace her heritage (I didn’t want to include a spoiler so that’s all I’m going to say there ). For some books I feel like theres an additional meaning behind the story and I thought this book was a good example of that. The reason why I chose the first photo was because I felt it shows how Celaena struggles with who she is and all of us can relate to that in some way or another. Celaena is the perfect example of a character that faces adversity and uses it as her motivation to succeed especially in this book.

Now, I didn’t like this book as much as book two Crown of Midnight, because there wasn’t much action. I understand it’s because this book really set us up for what’s to come next, but I thought some parts were boring since it was lacking the action component. Its funny because after I read this book I decided to look at other reviews. I wanted to see if there were other people that felt the same way. It was interesting to see that a lot of people had a similar opinion.  The first half of this book is really slow and it doesn’t pick up until closer to the end. Another thing I didn’t really like was how she intertwined another characters story throughout the book. That character is Manon. I just felt whenever her story started it took me out of the book, and distracted me from what was happening with Celaena and all those characters.

Even though I didn’t love this book; I still recommend it because it’s one part of an amazing series. If you didn’t know this is a 7 book series, and she just released the 4th which is called Queen of Shadows. I would love to see your thoughts and opinions on this series or just this book. Happy Reading!!!

Leave a Reply

