Book Reviews

Drown by Esther Dalseno Review

Hey Everyone,

I’m just going to jump into this review because I’m super excited to talk about it. Heres the synopsis:

Synopsis

Seven emotionless princesses.

Three ghostly sirens.
A beautiful, malicious witch haunted by memories.
A handsome, self-mutilating prince.

Belonging to a race that is mostly animal with little humanity, a world obsessed with beauty where morality holds no sway, a little mermaid escapes to the ocean’s surface. Discovering music, a magnificent palace of glass and limestone, and a troubled human prince, she is driven by love to consult the elusive sea-witch who secretly dominates the entire species of merfolk. Upon paying an enormous price for her humanity, the little mermaid begins a new life, uncovering secrets of sexuality and the Immortal Soul. As a deadly virus threatens to contaminate the bloodstreams of the whole merfolk race, the little mermaid must choose between the lives of her people, the man she loves, or herself.

A complete reinvention of Hans Christian Andersen’s classic fairy tale, this is a magical-realist fable that captures the essence of sacrifice and the price of humanity

I was initially attracted to this book based on the cover alone, because it’s beautiful. I love the soft matte feel of it. Then I read the synopsis, and I was sold. I was really lucky when I was chosen by 3 Little Birds Books to be a reviewer for Drown. I’ve always loved fairytales and enjoy reading retellings or reimagined versions of a classic. This book was absolutely amazing. I love when I read a book and it reminds me why I love reading, and writing so much. While reading I was always surprised at what was happening even though we all know some version of The Little Mermaid story whether it be disney or Hans Christian Andersen’s. Esther Dalseno’s writing is extremely descriptive, and holds a lot of imagery which I love in a book. She definitely put her own twist on this classic fairytale. I don’t want to give anything away, but this is one of my favorite lines.

“And she also remembered that even though her beauty could buy a kingdom, her sister’s could buy the whole world.”

She transformed this classic into something new, exciting, and memorable. Drown is unlike anything I have ever read. It’s a third person omniscient narrative which adds an extra element by telling the story without the incorporation of character names.   This is not easy to do but Dalseno does it with ease and the story moves along smoothly. Esther Dalseno is a unique writer and she brings in real world elements through her story telling. I don’t want to reveal any spoilers but she touches on real life problems through the Little Mermaids story. I highly recommend this book to EVERYONE. This book is being released OCTOBER 31, 2015 if you can you should check it out. It was absolutely amazing and I can’t wait to see more from Esther Dalseno.

This book can be purchased on Amazon if you’re interested. I’ve inserted the link below. If you read it let me know what you think and lets discuss.

Drown by Esther Dalseno

3 thoughts on “Drown by Esther Dalseno Review

Leave a Reply

