Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee Review

US_cover_of_Go_Set_a_Watchman

Before I jump into this review let me fill you in on my love for Harper Lee. I was first introduced to her by my amazing 8th grade teacher when we read To Kill A Mockingbird. I couldn’t get into in at first, but it soon became my favorite book; the reason why I love reading, and writing so much.  For that reason I own multiple copies with different covers. It’ a classic and if you haven’t read it you should go pick up a copy right now. Every word and line causes you to feel something. It’s a story that’s important for everyone to read.

One thing I do want to mention is the controversy that surrounded the release of this book. After publishing her first novel “To Kill a Mockingbird” in 1960; she never published another book, and said she insisted she never would. So when “Go Set A Watchman” was announced everyone was shocked. Harper Lee is an 89 year old woman that is hearing/sight impaired and a stroke victim. Her sister Alice who was her long time protector passed away in November 2014. It was her Tonja Carter who worked at her sisters Law Office that brought the novel to HarperCollins attention; claiming to have found it before Alice died. But this manuscript was actually found in 2011 and discussed at a meeting with Sotheby’s that Carter attended. Based on that alone it all seemed calculated which is why I initially was unsure about reading the book since Harper Lee was always so adamant about not releasing another book. I waited a while and then finally decided to pick it up because at the end of the day it was already published and released. There’s nothing I can do to change that and To Kill A Mockingbird is my all time favorite book. I had to read it and see what it was about for myself.

I recommend this book to everyone especially all fans of Harper Lee and “To Kill A Mockingbird”. I thought it was interesting to read this story through the perspective of Scout. Scout is forced to face some harsh realities; realities that turn her world upside down. That’s one of the hardest part of growing up; realizing the world is nothing like what you thought it was. I remember facing these realities myself and I remember the devastating blows it delivered.

“But a man who has lived by truth—and you have believed in what he has lived—he does not leave you merely wary when he fails you, he leaves you with nothing. I think that is why I’m nearly out of my mind.”

 

I don’t want to give anything away about the changes in some of the characters we know and love because I think its up to the reader to determine whether or not a change really took place or were these characteristics there all along. I personally don’t agree with a lot of the controversy surrounding Atticus Finch. If you’ve read this book. Share your thoughts I would love to read them and have a discussion.

5 thoughts on “Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee Review

  1. Stunning post, great story! I freaking loved To Kill a Mockingbird. So glad to hear Go Set A Watchman has lived up to your expectations because I was so scared to buy it as well. I’ve just started my own blog too. It’s all about books and a chance for us all to read together, take a look at https://darrensharpewrites.wordpress.com and follow if you find it interesting! Many MANY more to come.

  2. I liked Go Set a Watchman, but not nearly as much as I loved To Kill a Mockingbird. I wasn’t shocked by the “controversy”around Atticus’s character because I still found him to be the same person. I guess I found him consistent.
    There were a few chapters that I thought were boring (because it consisted of Scout mostly arguing) but I enjoyed learning about her grown up life.

    1. I agree with you there. I didn’t like Go Set a Watchman as much as To Kill a Mockingbird. There is just something extra special about that book that couldn’t be achieved by another. Yeah I think that all along Atticus was the same person. It’s just that this was the 1st time Scout saw him as human and not perfect which made caused readers to see him as a different person. Yeah I thought it was interesting to see that ffight in her but I can see where some of it was a little to much so it seemed a bit boring.

Leave a Reply

