Book Reviews

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling Review

Good Evening Everyone,

This is going to be a long one. 

Since the office has been quiet I was finally able to finish Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone yesterday. I was sad when it ended like every book I read, but there are 6 more which I can’t wait to get to.

Now let me tell you… I’ve always been a huge Harry potter fan, but unfortunately not because of the books. I tried reading this book when I was younger, but I only got a few pages in and I couldn’t get into it. I know…I know that’s blasphemous, but I think I couldn’t get into it, because at the time I started reading stuff most kids didn’t want to read such as Shakespeare. I know, crazy right? But when the movies were released I watched all of them and became obsessed. I’ve always been a huge fan of witches/wizards, and magic. So I was always enamored by these movies.

cover225x225

I finally decided to read Harry Potter when I was looking through Ibooks and I saw they had these new enhanced editions. These are amazing and fun. They have illustrations that move and change depending on what’s going on in the book. It’s magical all on its own. I have to say and this is a first that I’m actually happy I read the book after the movies, because it’s such a different experience. It was like watching the movie while reading it. The two images below are what the pages in the enhanced edition look like. There isn’t an image on every page which I like because then I think it would be to overwhelming. But it does enhance the reading experience. I absolutely loved reading this. It’s filled with surprises and the characters are everything you imagine them to be. J.K Rowling is a literary genius and she’s built a world you could never forget with characters you want to befriend. Even though I saw the movie first I still felt surprised, and excited as I read. There isn’t much I can say that hasn’t already been said about this series and first book. This book is funny, magical, and beautifully written.

Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 12.03.40 AM

Summary (Goodreads)

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts.Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts.

I recommend this book to EVERYONE. It doesn’t matter if you think you don’t like the genre. This book will make you fat in love with it. This is the kind of journey every book lover wants to go on when they pick up a book. I completely enjoyed it and can’t wait to read the next one. If you’ve read it which I’m sure may of you have; let me know what you thought of it. Who was your favorite character? What was your favorite part? I hope you’ve enjoyed this review/discussion. Have a Great Weekend and Happy Reading!!!

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling Review

Leave a Reply

