Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell Review

Hello Booklovers,

I hope everyone is having a very good Sunday. I’m so happy to be bringing this review to you. I bought this book last year on a whim while I was in Barnes and Noble, because I heard  ton about it, and the author Rainbow Rowell. I picked up the special edition which includes fan art, a ribbon book mark (which I love), an exclusive Q&A with the author ,and an excerpt from Carry On. This is part of the reason why I bought it, because it’s a beautifully done book. The art inside is fantastic and it isn’t often something like that is included in a book. 

Synopsis (Goodreads)

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love.

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Now let me tell you how much I loved this book. I’ve always liked the contemporary genre and one of the things I loved about this book is how relatable the characters are. Rainbow Rowell has a way with words and her dialogue is real. It doesn’t seem forced or unrealistic which I find happens sometimes in the contemporary genre. This is a very real coming of age story about a young girl trying to find her way in college. Which everyone can relate to that feeling of trying to figure out where you belong. If you want a break from the usual YA book or looking for a fun contemporary to read then this is the book for you. Pick it up and give it a try. If you’ve read it already let me know what you thought and we can talk about it. Any books you can recommend. Just let me know. 

4 thoughts on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell Review

  1. I loved Fangirl! Your copy is beyond beautiful btw 🙂 Have you read anything else by Rainbow? I just finished Eleanor and Park and recommend it! I’ll be posting a review later in the week.

    1. No this was the first book I read from Rainbow Rowell. I always heard the buzz about Eleanor and Park but didn’t think it was something I would like but after Fangirl I might try it. I know she has a new book releasing soon. Can’t wait to read your review.

Leave a Reply

