Book of the Week · Book Reviews

Gabriel and the Swallows by Esther Dalseno Review

Hello Bookworms,

Sorry for the delay I getting this review up but here it is. As you all may or may not know Esther Dalseno became one of my favorite authors after I read her first published novel Drown last year. It is an extremely beautiful piece of work. I’ve linked my review of that in this post in case you want to check it out.

Now I have for you the first book in a duology being published by Oftomes Publishing “Gabriel and the Swallows”. This is set to be released on March 11, 2016. In only 5 DAYS.

unnamed

Synopsis (Goodreads)

A lonely farm boy.

A girl with swallow’s wings.

An ancient city buried in a volcano.

A mystery old as blood and bone.
There is more to Gabriel than the life he’s ashamed of – the son of peasant winemakers, bullied relentlessly on account of his disabled mother. For Gabriel has a secret: the elaborate dream world he descends into at night – a grandiose, vivid existence – is becoming more real than his waking life.
Everything changes for Gabriel when he rescues a wounded creature – a miraculous girl with swallow’s wings – from the voracious pursuit of Alfio Gallo, a dangerous old enemy. Aided by the beautiful and mysterious Orlando Khan, Gabriel is conflicted by unanswered questions: who is the Dark One that dwells in the medieval tunnels beneath their city? Is he just a figment of Gabriel’s powerful imagination? And is the foundling really who she says she is?
Wrestling with manhood whilst beckoned by ancient rites and foreign lands, Gabriel is about to make a deadly decision that changes the course of life as he knows it…as long as he can decide which reality he’s in.

I absolutely love this book; not only for the story, but because of the work you can clearly see the author put into it. As you’re reading you can see the research she did in order to create a picture for the reader of Orvieto which is where this takes place and the lives of the people living there. The writing is mesmerizing because Dalseno uses incredible imagery and the details are picturesque. I’ve never been to Italy but reading this book I felt like I was right there by Gabriel’s side. I sat and read this book and got completely lost in the world and invested in the characters’ lives. The characters are greatly developed and we continue to watch them change throughout the book. This is what I’ve come to know from her writing. She takes us on this wild and magical journey that you never want to leave. Every reader will feel like they’re being transported through time. This book surprised me in so many good ways because it’s completely different then the books I’ve read recently. It’s unique, memorable, mystifying, and unforgettable. The quote below is one of my favorites in the book and you will have to read it

“I am a human with bird tendencies when I am with you. And I am a bird with human tendencies when I am with them”

There are so many quotes and passages I wanted to bring to you, but I don’t want to give anything away. You will be left with a book full of notes once you’re done reading this book. One thing I love about Esther Dalsenos books are that there’s always something more to take away from it. There are so many things I can say about this book but I don’t want to give away any spoilers. Just know that it is a captivating story you will never forget.

I recommend this book to everyone because there’s something in it for all readers. It’s an enchanting tale that will leave you wanting more and lucky for you the 2nd book in this duology is in the works.

I hope you all enjoy the rest of your weekend and as always

HAPPY READING!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

