New World Rising by Jennifer Wilson

Hello Book Lovers,

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I posted anything, especially a book review. I finished this a while ago but I wanted to give you a review for it before I post my review of the second book in the series.  I recently did and interview with the author Jennifer Wilson. If you haven’t had the chance to check it out I’ve included the link below. It gives you a chance to get to know the author in a different way. As usual I’ve included the synopsis below from Goodreads. 

Jennifer Wilson Interview

Synopsis (Goodreads)

Since witnessing her parents’ murders at the age of eleven, Phoenix’s only purpose in life has been to uphold her mother’s dying words- to be strong and survive. But surviving outside of The Walls- outside of The Sanctuary- is more like a drawn-out death sentence. A cruel and ruthless city, Tartarus is run by the Tribes whose motto is simple, “Join or die.” 

Refusing to join and determined to live, Phoenix fights to survive in this savage world. But who can she trust, when no one can be trusted? Not even herself.

In a world where Dystopian has become a popular genre in the last few years it’s hard to not compare a new book in that genre to the others, but I have to say this stands out in its own way. Sometimes I’m reminded of Mockingly by Suzanne Collins but it isn’t something that takes over the story or feels like I’ve read it before. The characters were amazing in this book. I thought they were well developed and there were so many different characters throughout the book that you were always on your toes to see what was going to happen or who was going to show up next. The details were great and clear which I love because I could imagine what this place looked like. One of my favorite things was how sign language was used int he story. It’s not something that I’ve seen done in books before, and it was done well. Wilson showed how people communicate with this character and what the difficulties could be in a society like this. 

“That’s the funny thing about guns; even untrained hands can feel powerful using them. But take that gun away and you’re left with nothing but a coward whose only skill is how to blindly pull a trigger.”

A book with memorable quotes is a book your will remember forever. This book touches on a lot of different issues and some may be considered controversial for a YA book, but it’s the reality of what could happen in these Dystopian societies. The quote above is something important; not only for the story but for the real world today. It leaves you something to think about. That’s the thing I loved about this book is that it touches on real situations in a very different world, and the author isn’t afraid to touch on subjects others may not want to write about. You can purchase this book on Amazon  or read on Kindle Unlimited for free. I hope you check it out and if you do let me know what you thought. 

27268998

Keep an eye out for a new review coming soon.

HAPPY READING!!

Leave a Reply

