Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins Review

25734163

Thank you Penguin for sending me Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins for review. This is the second book in the Rebel Belle trilogy. I recently finished it, and I thought it was great. For me it was a big improvement from the first book Rebel Belle which I reviewed on this blog, because it was action packed. This was also a very quick read, and I think that’s because her writing is simple and straight to the point. Which I feel can be a good thing if you want to read something easy that doesn’t require a lot of focus. 

Synopsis (Goodreads)

Life is almost back to normal for Harper Price. The Ephors have been silent after their deadly attack at Cotillion months ago, and her best friend, Bee, has returned after a mysterious disappearance. Now Harper can focus on the important things in life: school, canoodling with David (her nemesis-turned-ward-slash-boyfie), and even competing in the Miss Pine Grove pageant.

Unfortunately, supernatural chores are never done. The Ephors have decided they’d rather train David than kill him. The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can’t stay David’s Paladin unless she undergoes an ancient trial that will either kill her . . . or make her more powerful than ever.

Now, let’s talk about the characters. One thing I wish the author Rachel Hawkins did was make these characters more dimensional. There isn’t any growth with these characters from Rebel Belle to Miss Mayhem. I enjoy seeing characters transform and change/ grow when I read, and that’s something that was really lacking. This book was very different then Rebel Belle. In my opinion they feel like individual books not a continuation. Even though the books are connected a little because Miss Mayhem had to start somewhere. It ended in a way that I can’t imagine what the final book Lady Renegades will be about.

The below quote is one of the only memorable quotes in the book which gives you an idea of wha to expect from this series. Other then these few things I think it’s a good book. Something fun to sit and read when you just want to relax and have fun. I really can’t wait to see what Lady Renegades is about and how she continues the story, because the way she ended Miss Mayhem was so sad and heartbreaking. I need to see where it goes from here. 

“Deep-fried Oreos were sent from heaven to prove God loves us.”

If you’ve read this book/series let me know what you thought about it, and if you haven’t pick it up and give it a try. 

Happy Reading!!

MissMayhem-DavidStark

Leave a Reply

