Book Reviews

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare Review

Hello Bookworms,

I finished this City of Bones by Cassandra Clare at the end of April which is the 1st book in The Mortal Instruments Series, which consists of 6 books.  I know I’m very late to the party, but initially I didn’t think it was something I could get into. I also didn’t want to read it just because of the hype that has surrounded this author and series. So 9 years after this was published I decided to read it. Since I was unsure about it I decided to request it at the library instead of purchasing it initially, and started this Shadowhunter journey. I gave it 5 stars on Goodreads because I really enjoyed it and I hope you enjoy this review.

cityofbonesrepackaged-259x400

Synopsis (Goodreads)

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Let’s start by saying I really enjoyed this book, and Cassandra Clare does a great job at building the world. Since the books are mostly set in New York she transitions well into Idris which is the Shadowhunter world. This doesn’t happen often since this is the 1st book, but she takes us on this journey, and really leaves us with something to imagine. Which makes you want to continue reading. Now I have to say that I don’t agree with people that call this a masterpiece. There definitely could’ve been a lot more dimension to it. In terms of plot I think she could’ve done a lot better. There are very few surprising moments, but those moments are great. The characters are very relatable and the story is easy to follow. It’s a fast-paced,action-packed paranormal book that keeps you invested in the story and the characters since from the first page. With so many books in the YA genre constantly being released it’s hard to compete, but the thing about this book is you will either love it or hate it. It’s different then a lot of the books being released in this genre today, but I think it’s a good read and worth picking up.

tumblr_static_6zxhcdspchwkocgkg0g0w0okw

“The boy never cried again, and he never forgot what he’d learned: that to love is to destroy, and that to be loved is to be the one destroyed.”

large

These are two of the best quotes in this book, and I know they don’t seem like much but sometimes it’s the simpler things that leave a stronger impact. The relationships in this book are surprising at times and are a big piece of the entire story. Check it out and let me know what you think of it.

“Declarations of love amuse me. Especially when unrequited.”

Fearless-shadowhunters-tv-show-38955270-500-250

If you’ve read this book let me know what you thought of it or the series as a whole. I’m currently reading City of Ashes and I will have a review for that sometime soon.

HAPPY READING!!!

 

2 thoughts on “City of Bones by Cassandra Clare Review

Leave a Reply

