New Voices in Fiction Event

Hey Book Lovers,

It’s almost the weekend!!! Lately I feel like there’s so much I want to read, write, say, and do but there isn’t enough time. I just wanted to share with you the experience I had yesterday. I was invited to an event hosted by Crown Publishing which is a division of Penguin Random House. It was called “Life on the Edge: New Voices in Fiction”. We were introduced to four authors that are releasing their debut novels this Summer. These authors are Emily Barton, Jonas Karlsson, Lara Vapnyar, and Yasmine El Rashidi. 

This was extremely exciting for me because I’ve been working on this blog for a few years now, and it started when I decided to blog about books full-time instead of writing about everything under the sun. It’s still not exactly where I want it to be, but I love it. I’ve put in a lot of work to get it to this place, and to be recognized by a publishing company as valuable is a big achievement. At least in my mind it is. I got to meet the authors, publicists, other bloggers, etc. It was such an amazing experience and something I needed. I would love to be able to work in publishing or a creative field and I realize that more and more when I go to events like this and network with people who have the same interests as me. It’s not easy to come out of your comfort zone and start a conversation with strangers, but this couldn’t have gone any better. It was amazing. An experience I hope that I will get the opportunity to do again. 

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 12.19.17 AM

I also just want to make sure that everyone knows that no dream is to big. If you believe in your dream and work hard at it then you will succeed. It takes time and effort in order for things to go the way you want them too. If you dedicate your time to something you truly love then there’s success in that alone. I may not be well known or anything but I’m passionate and proud of what I do and I couldn’t be happier. Live your dream and follow through with those goals. New opportunities will slowly open as you grow. 

BTW, I will also be doing a giveaway because they were nice enough to not only give me copied for myself, but to host a giveaway also. One will take place here on wordpress and the other on Instagram. Keep an eye out for that. It’s going to be fun. I will be posting a couple of reviews this week because I’m a bit behind and look out for my May Wrap Up and June TBR. Coming Soon!!!

Happy Reading!!!

2 thoughts on “New Voices in Fiction Event

  1. I love all the swag you got.
    The event looks like it was a lot of fun. I’d love to go to something like that. Maybe one day 😀

    I look forward to your giveaway. They’re my favorite!

Leave a Reply

