A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas Review

Hey Book Lovers,

I finished ACOTAR by Sarah J Maas yesterday. I know I’m late to the party, but as the TBR pile keeps growing the books get shuffled around. I had preordered the 2nd book in the series in hope that I would have already read the first, but that didn’t happen. When I received it I said it was time to read the first one. I was initially drawn to this story, because it’s a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. You all should know Belle is my favorite Disney princess and that’s my favorite movie. You can definitely see this story unfold and in such a different way from beginning to end, but with those same fairytale elements.

Synopsis (Goodreads)

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

the-world_s-about-to-end-i-can-feel-it-5

I absolutely loved this book. I don’t even know where to begin. The characters were really well thought out and developed. As a reader you could clearly see how the characters change from beginning to end. Each one of them has a very distinct story which I loved because it shows why they are who they are. The plot was so well thought out and executed as well. I’m a big fan of Feyre. The romance was borderline new adult which I loved but it was also paced extremely well. When I read the quote below I said how is this published under Bloomsbury children. I even googled to see if it was a mistake the way it was categorized. This is only one of many spicy scenes. You will love it all.

acotar_tamlin

TAMLIN!!!! I absolutely love him. Read this book for him alone.

The one thing I think which people will probably think I’m crazy for saying is this would’ve been great as a standalone. I thought the ending was perfect. You weren’t left with a crazy cliffhanger which would require another book. It ends perfectly, but also leaves you with a chance to use your imagination and create how you think things might’ve gone next. the-world_s-about-to-end-i-can-feel-it-3

The entire book was action packed and it took me on an emotional rollercoaster. I think anyone would really enjoy this book. It amazes me that Sarah J Maas is able to write two very successful series, and neither one takes a hit because of it. This book has faeries, curses, secrets, and great romance! You can’t go wrong with any of that. The only thing I’m concerned about is the next installment A Court of Mist and Fury. I’m a bit apprehensive, because I really loved this first book, and I hope Sarah J Maas stays true to what she started in book one. If you’ve read this book let me know, and lets discuss it.

What did you think about it and how do you feel about this being a trilogy?

As always enjoy the rest of your evening.

Happy Reading!!!

Leave a Reply

