Book Reviews

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls Review

7445

Hello Book Lovers,

I hope everyone had a good day. It definitely was a bit slow for me, and the day seemed to be dragging by. So I’m happy to be writing this for you, because nothing makes me happier than working on this blog, and reading a good book. I finished The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls yesterday and this is one of the most amazing memoirs I’ve ever read.

Synopsis

The Glass Castle is a remarkable memoir of resilience and redemption, and a revelatory look into a family at once deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant. When sober, Jeannette’s brilliant and charismatic father captured his children’s imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishonest and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea of domesticity and didn’t want the responsibility of raising a family.

The Walls children learned to take care of themselves. They fed, clothed, and protected one another, and eventually found their way to New York. Their parents followed them, choosing to be homeless even as their children prospered.

The Glass Castle is truly astonishing–a memoir permeated by the intense love of a peculiar but loyal family.

“I lived in a world that at any moment could erupt into fire. It was the sort of knowledge that kept you on your toes.”

I’ve read a good amount of memoirs. Memoir is one of my favorite genres, but this one really made me evaluate the things I may take for granted because I’ve always been used to having them. In my opinion this book is everything a book should be and more. The lives the people in had was unique, but relatable. There is no such thing as the perfect family and this book really showed how one can still succeed in something so dysfunctional. One of the things I loved is that Walls wrote this with such clarity which is sometimes very difficult to do when writing about your life. This memoir was written without anger or judgement. It happened and it shaped the person she became in the world. 

“You should never hate anyone, even your worst enemies. Everyone has something good about them. You have to find the redeeming quality and love the person for that.”

Jeannette Walls took what good she could from her experience and moved positively from a childhood she didn’t enjoy into an adulthood she could pick. This is what a memoir should do: show us the past to affect the future, not to give us a place to live. I really recommend this to everyone for so many reasons. Even if you don’t really enjoy memoirs. I’m sure you will enjoy this. If you’ve read this or plan on reading this let me know what you think of it. 

Screen Shot 2016-08-17 at 10.13.43 PM

 

 

Leave a Reply

