Book Reviews

A Torch Against The Night by Sabaa Tahir Review

Hello Book Lovers,

I can’t believe it! All this time waiting for a book to be released and I already finished it earlier this week. Let me tell you I was skeptical when I heard An Ember in the Ashes was getting a sequel, because I thought it was perfect as a standalone. When I got my hands on this book I was super excited and I was interested to see how she continued this story. From the moment I opened the book I couldn’t put it down, because it was so good.

6358747792907966602097937875_rs_500x247-140408114123-tumblr_static_tumblr_m197eosvms1qi23vmo1_500_large

Synopsis

Elias and Laia are running for their lives. After the events of the Fourth Trial, Martial soldiers hunt the two fugitives as they flee the city of Serra and undertake a perilous journey through the heart of the Empire.

Laia is determined to break into Kauf—the Empire’s most secure and dangerous prison—to save her brother, who is the key to the Scholars’ survival. And Elias is determined to help Laia succeed, even if it means giving up his last chance at freedom.

But dark forces, human and otherworldly, work against Laia and Elias. The pair must fight every step of the way to outsmart their enemies: the bloodthirsty Emperor Marcus, the merciless Commandant, the sadistic Warden of Kauf, and, most heartbreaking of all, Helene—Elias’s former friend and the Empire’s newest Blood Shrike.

Bound to Marcus’s will, Helene faces a torturous mission of her own—one that might destroy her: find the traitor Elias Veturius and the Scholar slave who helped him escape…and kill them both. 

“Your emotions make you human. Even the unpleasant ones have a purpose. Don’t lock them away. If you ignore them, they just get louder and angrier.”

25558608

A Torch Against The Night picks up right where Ember left off. This book was absolutely amazing. Sabaa Tahir continued writing the way she did in the first one which was through multiple point of views. This is something I really enjoy, because when it’s done correctly it can be magical. In this book we get to see some of the story unfold through Helene’s POV.  As a reader I loved how Tahir developed her characters. Seeing part of the story from Helene’s POV made her more relatable and human not just another Empire soldier.  I can pull so many quotes from this book because Sabaa Tahir has a great way with words, but the two I added in here are my top favorites. 

“Failure doesn’t define you. It’s what you do after you fail that determines whether you are a leader or a waste of perfectly good air.”

A Torch Against The Night is a great sequel. There is a lot of adventure and unexpected twists along the way. This book is a page turner and definitely kept me on my toes. I was really impressed by what Sabaa Tahir was able to accomplish in this book. I highly recommend this book to everyone. It has a little something for everyone, and there is non stop action which I absolutely love. This book is a possible 4 books series, but I recently read that Tahir may keep it as a trilogy if she feels that the story is complete in 3 books. The unfortunate thing is that now we must wait for the next one, and I can only imagine what she has in store for us. I’m super impatient and waiting for this next book will drive me crazy. 

waiting.gif

If you’ve read this book I would love to hear what you thought of it? Was it everything you expected? or Did you feel there was something missing? Let me know and if you plan on reading it enjoy.  I hope everyone enjoys the rest of the weekend. 

Happy Reading!!

Screen Shot 2016-08-17 at 10.13.43 PM

Leave a Reply

