Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell Review

Hello Book Lovers,

I’m so excited to bring you this review. It’s been a while since I wrote one, but I’m trying to get back into the swing of things. I haven’t been reading that much these days, but what I have read I loved. This book was actually recommended to me years ago, but I never read it, because based on the description I didn’t think it was my type of book. After reading Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell I understood why everyone loved her books and writing.

I bought this book on a whim a while back, because it was 1.99 on bookbub.com. I decided to read it recently because one of our guest bloggers wrote about how important this book was to her and the kids in her classroom. Now, I really understand why.

eleanor_and_park_by_candy8496-d8e2nu3

Synopsis

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

eleanorpark

Rainbow Rowell has captured some of the important moments of being a teen beautifully in this book. This book was written from the point of view of Eleanor and Park which really made the story great. The characters in this book were unique but relate able. There’s a character in here for everyone.

13840134-_sy540_

One thing I enjoyed was how Rowell showed the struggles some teens face when it comes to family, identity, and body image. These are things that everyone experiences at some point or another, but it’s never really talked about in books. Eleanor and Park is heartwarming and heartbreaking all at the same time. I didn’t expect to like this book as much as I did, but I really recommend this to everyone. You could feel what the characters were feeling as if they were falling off the page. I loved the characters, romance, and the writing. Rainbow Rowell has a way with taking us along on a journey and unfolding every occurrence beautifully and it felt real. This is one of the best contemporary novels I’ve read in a long time.

If you’re looking for something to read definitely pick this book up. You won’t regret it.

What are you currently reading?

eleanor-park-2014

If you’ve read any Rainbow Rowell books. Let me know which book and what you thought about it.

HAPPY READING!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

