Book Reviews

In Such Good Company: Eleven Years of Laughter, Mayhem, and Fun in the Sandbox Review

Hey Everyone,

I know it’s been a while and I’ve been trying to get back in the swing of things, but it’s been difficult. I’m trying to complete my Goodreads goal of 40 books this year and I only have 4 left. How are you doing with your reading goal for the year?
I read this book a while ago and I thought it was really entertaining. I remember when I was in junior high I would watch Mamas Family while I got ready. Carol Burnett was a pioneer for women comedians at the time. Television was filled with male led variety shows and there wasn’t much room for women. She took all of the “No” she heard and turned them into yeses. She built a strong and long career for herself and led the way for others like Vicki Lawrence. It’s so crazy how much they look alike too. 

This book was written in an interesting way. Most of it are the skits from her variety show. She also introduces the different celebrities she had on her show over those 11 years and the funny experiences she had with them. I thought this was great because it wasnt the usual memoir or autobiography. She gave us a lot of insight into her life and how her career began. She also showed the struggles she faced being a women in business. 

I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for something funny and different to read. Also if you’re just a fan of Carol Burnett it’s a fun read. I hope you enjoyed this review. It was short and sweet. I will have more for you soon. 

 

                                                                          Happy Reading!!!!

Leave a Reply

