Book Reviews

Catacomb by Madeleine Roux Review

Happy Monday Everyone!!

For me it’s happy since I’m off from work today. I realize I should’ve taken the rest of the week off until the new year but I thought of that too late. I hope everyone has been enjoying the holidays. I know I did. It was great spending time with family and friends.

Now let’s get into this review. I finished Catacomb by Madeleine Roux on Saturday. I’m excited to finally be finished with this series. It’s taken me a while even though it’s been out for a long time because I waited for each book to be out in paperback. I know there are some people out there that understand the obsession with having all books in a series in the same book format. This is the final book in a series. The only one I haven’t read is the prequel and the novellas.

23429355

Synopsis

Senior year is finally over. After all they’ve been through, Dan, Abby, and Jordan are excited to take one last road trip together, and they’re just not going to think about what will happen when the summer ends. But on their way to visit Jordan’s uncle in NewIOrleans, the three friends notice that they are apparently being followed.. And Dan starts receiving phone messages from someone he didn’t expect to hear from again—someone who died last Halloween.

As the strange occurrences escalate, Dan is forced to accept that everything that has happened to him in the past year may not be a coincidence, but fate—a fate that ties Dan to a group called the Bone Artists, who have a sinister connection with a notorious killer from the past. Now, Dan’s only hope is that he will make it out of his senior trip alive.

In this finale to the New York Times bestselling Asylum series, found photographs help tell the story of three teens who exist on the line between past and present, genius and insanity.

I’ve definitely stuck it out with this story. On Goodreads I gave it a ⅗ stars and to most that wouldn’t seem like the greatest rating, but I enjoyed this book. The writing stayed the same throughout the series. It’s not super detailed or something that requires you to really focus on but it was interesting nonetheless. I enjoy reading books like that sometimes that don’t require too much focus and I can just enjoy it. Roux intertwined photos, a story of identity, and family lineage to create something different. I don’t want to say much since this is the last book in a series and I wouldn’t want to spoil it for any of you that plan on reading it. I thought the ending to this book was great. She closed up some loose ends and really surprised me in the end. The only issue I ever had with these books is that they aren’t as creepy as you would think based on the covers and some images. In my opinion this is more of a mystery type of story then horror. There is a lot of paranormal stuff that goes on but nothing too scary. The characters are relatable and filled with curiosity. Some of the things they go through every teen has experienced at one point or another.eae1963e1cf0584f15f3cea59ae703b5.jpg

“She left me. All this time she was gone, I didn’t know if she was dead or just didn’t want me. But now it doesn’t matter. I choose my new parents and I choose my friends. I choose the family I made. I choose me.”
I definitely recommend this book to people that are looking for something different to read in the mystery/paranormal genre. The images are great and with each book the story gets better. I thought the ending was great. It was something that I was hoping would eventually happen. I think this book could be a hit or miss if you pick it up, but definitely give it a try. If you’ve read these books let me know what you thought about them. I’m still trying to decide if I want to read the Prequel and the Novellas. Let me know what you thought of these books if you’ve read them.

What’s your favorite scary or mystery book you’ve read?

If you have any recommendations let me know. I’m starting to make my list for 2017. Enjoy The Rest of Today and Happy Reading!!

untitled

Leave a Reply

