Book Reviews

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff Review

 

Hey Book Lovers,

I know I’m late to this party, because this book took the world by storm when it was released last year. I just never got to it and initially I wasn’t planning on reading it. The reason for that was the format. I thought it was very weird and wasn’t sure I would get into it. That’s why I skipped over it for so long. I bought it on my kindle randomly, because I saw it went on sale for 1.99 on Bookbub. I did the unthinkable and read it on my Kindle which most people thought would be worse because of the format but I thought it was fine. If you haven’t heard about this book check out the synopsis below.

Synopsis

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

I wasn’t sure I would enjoy this book; not only because of the format, but the genre as well. This book is YA Scifi and that’s not the usual genre I’m into reading, but I really enjoyed this book. I have to say this was the most unique book I read this year. Not only because of the format, but the story line. I didn’t know too much about this book before starting it, but I heard nothing but good things. The authors really take you on an intense journey from beginning to end. The characters, plot, and intense moments kept me on my toes. The way they told the story was very unique. One thing I loved about the format were the blacked out words. I loved it because then I would determine which word could possibly go there. One of the things that grabbed me were the collection of graphics and documents used throughout the book. It really enhanced the story and for me created a connection to the characters and this crazy world. Below are some of my favorite quotes and some imaged from the book just to give you an idea of what some of the pages look like. 

“Since I will not send this, I also feel it is my duty to inform you that almost six months on I think I still love you and that makes me sad because love shouldn’t feel this way. It’s like getting kicked in the stomach every time I think of you and it makes me want to roll my face across this keyboard”

15338188-_sx540_

“You deserve every star in the galaxy laid out at your feet and a thousand diamonds in your hair. You deserve someone who’ll run with you as far and as fast as you want to. Holding your hand, not holding you back.”

illuminae-1

“She steps forward, one foot, then the other, and then he reaches her, and they come together with a crash. Her arms curl up around his neck, and his mouth finds hers like he’s drowning and she’s air, and her feet come clean off the ground as the world is forgotten. And they’re together.”

15701235-_sx540_

I recommend this to book to everyone because I think it has something for every reader. Even if you don’t like Scifi give it a try. I’ve never been a huge fan, but I’m trying to broaden my horizons in the reading department. The only thing about this book that I think is a hit or miss for anyone is the format. It is very different and unique, but I think it adds a new level to the story. I hope everyone is having a Merry Christmas and Happy Hannukah. Take the time to enjoy the holidays but always keep reading. 

I will have more reviews coming soon. I’m trying to catch up before the new year so keep an eye out for those.

What book are you finishing 2016 with?

HAPPY READING!!!

 
Leave a Reply

