The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon Review

 

Hello Everyone,

Today is the last day in 2016 and my last review for this year will be for The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon. I had this on my TBR since it was released on November 1st 2016. One of my best friends chose it for her Book of the Month subscription and loved it. So she lent it to me asap and I devoured this book quickly. The Sun Is Also A Star is a Young Adult, Contemporary book that you are bound to get lost in.

28763485

Synopsis

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

review-quote

Where do I begin? I absolutely loved this book and it was a great way to end my 2016 reading year. I’m one book behind on my Goodreads goal so I might try and squeeze in a comic but if not this is my last book of the year. The writing in this book was beautiful and we were given two strong, relatable; yet very different characters. One of the things I love about this book is that she brought to life the reality of cultural identity, family, expectations, and love. These are all topics everyone can relate to or have dealt with, but isn’t always represented in books in a beautiful yet realistic way. This book takes place in New York City which you all know I love, because that’s where I’m from. I love the plot and the story takes place in a day. Nothing More; Nothing Less. Which I found to be very interesting and unique. It takes a lot of talent to be able to give a reader a full story and in depth look at the characters in a day. Pretty much everything in this story is about coincidence, what ifs, and fate. I thought this was  fun, sad, and entertaining read. Yoon wrote this book from multiple perspectives. The two main characters Natasha, and Daniel, but also from the characters they meet along the way.

book-quote

Nicola Yoon is able to write about serious topics throughout this book while still intertwining humorous scenes. I really recommend this book to everyone even if you’re not a fan of contemporary or romance. I’m sure you will find something to love about this book. The characters are everything and the ups and downs throughout this one day will take you on an unexpected roller coaster ride. Next I’m hoping to read her other book Everything, Everything. If you’ve read this book or Nicola Yoon’s other book I would love to hear what you thought about it. 

What was your favorite contemporary book of 2016?

Happy Reading!!!

Leave a Reply

