This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp Review

Hey Book Lovers,

I finished this book earlier this month; I initially heard about it a lot on twitter and Youtube. I got it through a trade, because I had a new book I knew I wasn’t going to read.

24529123

This Is Where It Ends is a story about a school shooting at Opportunity High School in Alabama. This story is told from the point of view of four students; three of them in the school and one outside. The entire book occurs over the course of 54 minutes and it is told in first person which makes it easy to get swept away by the story. During times of tragedy time tends to stand still and it shows in this book. In the news, school shootings are far too common, and it becomes a media circus, both while it is happening, and in the aftermath. Nijkamp is bringing some attention to this situation. This is an extremely sensitive topic and I thought she handled it well.

tiwie-quote

Nijkamp highlights what neglect, tragedy, family, and bullying can do to a person. We are taken through the entire situation by these four characters and each of them are experiencing something completely different. I highly recommend this book; especially for teens, and younger children. There’s never going to be an easy way to explain why these things happen and that’s because it’s something you can’t really understand, but Nijkamp goes through step by step what these characters went through from beginning to end.

this-is-where-it-ends-marieke-nijkamp-feature

The only problem I had with this book was that the ending felt rushed. I wanted to know a little bit more about the aftermath of the whole situation. A lot of things happened and I wanted to see more of how the characters felt about everything in those hours after. 

I would love to hear what you thought about this book or if you plan on reading it in the future. I definitely thing everyone should pick it up, because it touches on such a sensitive subject and other issues. 

I hope you’re all having a good week so far and I will have more for you soon. 

IMG_0638happy reading 2 peeps

Leave a Reply

