Takeover Thursdays: David from A Writer’s Whimsical Alcove

Hello Book worms,
Welcome back to another edition of Takeover Thursdays. It’s been a while, but it’s back. Today we have my stepbrother David from A Writer’s Whimsical Alcove. He is amazing so you should go check out his blog. I thought this post was great and hope you all enjoy it. 
unnamed
It’s time that I reflect on what book/author has influenced my life,my love of books, and the way that I perceive the world. Terry Goodkind, a massive accredited Fantasy author who’s written my all-time favorite series Sword of Truth. These books follow our protagonist Richard Rahl. Over the course of the series Richard encounters what is known to be the “Wizard’s Rules”. These rules have said to be some of Goodkind’s most philosophical lines, and I’ve gotten great power from each rule. Each rule could apply to any of our lives, and I’ve often found great strength in them, often times during a moment of great turmoil. 
The Wizard’s rule that resonates the most in me and in my everyday life has to be the 8th Wizard’s rule, found in Goodkind’s book Naked Empire. In the book this rule is as follows: “Talga Vassternich”. It’s written in one of the languages from Goodkind’s fantastical world called, High D’Haran. In short, it means “deserve victory”. Deserving victory has been the most profound thing an author has ever tried to communicate to me. It’s something that I didn’t acknowledge at first, and quite literally took for granted. You see, I’m the kind of person that tends to let time pass me by, letting others get ahead of me, finding comfort in being complacent. While I have big dreams, I let my own inner demons take control of my life at times, and it has ultimately changed where I wanted to be at this point in my life. 
Reading Goodkind’s 8th Wizard’s rule, I began to realize that I was the problem. I spent such a long time blaming outside variables to my stunted growth in the success department, however I was not being honest with myself. “Deserve victory” is not just a motto or a mind-set. It has to be a way of life. You have to be committed to your struggle, what ever it may be. You have to be justified in your convictions, especially if you seek to be successful. I came to terms with my own self-doubt, particularly in regards to wanting to be an author. I wasn’t believing in the power of deserving victory. It’s not just a means to an end. You can’t sit around waiting for others to give you what you need or what you desire; you have to go out and seek those things for yourself. It’s your life and you must live it.
The most important thing I’ve taken away from Goodkind’s work and this rule is that you have to earn something for yourself. You’re the captain of your own ship. Victory is not what’s significant, but the journey to obtaining that victory is what’s victorious in itself. It taught me to revel in the little things along the way and not to be overwhelmed with the bigger picture. Sometimes that light at the end of the tunnel is so bright it can freeze you where you stand. If you truly believe like I now do, that I’m justified and committed to following my dreams, you are welcoming that victory inside of you. You become the embodiment of it. 
This book and Terry Goodkind as an author have changed my way of life. I’ve gone through many dark things reading his books, but each and every book of his had a message for me that gave me strength and a clarity on life that truly can’t be bought. I cherish his philosophical cathartic moments, because they have made me into the person I am today. As cliche as it sounds, I’ve become a living embodiment of Goodkind’s books. I’ve finally come to a point in my life that I can finally say, I “deserve victory”. 
I just want to say thank you to David for guest posting today. This is a very thoughtful and insightful post. I think we all can relate to this in one way or another. I would love to hear about your favorite author and how they influenced you. Let me know in the comments below. Happy Reading!!

Who is your favorite author and why?

tt

One thought on “Takeover Thursdays: David from A Writer’s Whimsical Alcove

Leave a Reply

