A New Model: What Confidence, Beauty, and Power Really Look Like Review

Hello Bookworms,

I finished A New Model: What Confidence, Beauty, and Power Really Look Like by Ashley Graham earlier this month and I had it pre-ordered once I heard about it. The reason being that I love Ashley Graham and I think it’s great that she promotes body positivity. I also love good celebrity memoir/autobiography. They’re usually filled with great stories.31932167

Now let’s get into this review!

A New Model is a short book (197 pages) to be exact. When I saw it I was surprised by that because I thought how much could you squeeze into such a short book? The answer: Not Much! This book wasn’t what I was expecting. I thought it was going to be like other memoirs/autobiographies I’ve read, but it read more like self-help/advice. In this book there weren’t enough anecdotes or shared memories.

This can be for a handful of reasons and here are some: 

  1. Maybe she didn’t want to share a lot of her personal life.
  2. She’s only 29! Not saying you couldn’t have had a full life by that age, but it’s only ¼ of the way through. I’m sure there’s more she will do and experience which is why it wasn’t so meaty.
  3. Maybe this was meant to be a self-help/advice book. In hopes that her story builds confidence in other young girls.

I also think some thought needs to go into these books and who the audience is going to be, because for a story like this readers want to learn more, and even though she struggles just like a lot of other plus size models. Her journey seemed a lot easier then others, but that acknowledgment doesn’t come through. She identifies as being part of the movement, but I think she should’ve elaborated on what the journey has been.

This was a very fast read, but I didn’t get too much out of it which is why I wouldn’t recommend it.  I think there are a lot of other great memoirs/autobiographies out there worth your time.  It also says a lot about the books that are released these days. I’m a firm believer that everyone has a story and the individual will always believe its a great story. But I honestly don’t think that every celebrity should write a book. I think the best time to write a book is when it’s truly authentic and you really believe you have a story to tell.  I give it 2.5/5 stars. If you’e read this book I would love to hear what you thought about it.

AReadersOasis

What are you reading this weekend?

Leave a Reply

