The Party by Robyn Harding Review

Happy Labor Day!!

I hope everyone had a great day and nice long weekend if you were off today. I’m happy to be bringing you another review so since since I was a bit behind prior. I finished this book last week and unfortunately I didn’t love it. I thought it was a decent story, but I thought more could’ve been done with the story. 

32620309.jpg

Synopsis

In this stunning and provocative domestic drama about a sweet sixteen birthday party that goes horribly awry, a wealthy family in San Francisco finds their picture-perfect life unraveling, their darkest secrets revealed, and their friends turned to enemies.

One invitation. A lifetime of regrets.

Sweet sixteen. It’s an exciting coming of age, a milestone, and a rite of passage. Jeff and Kim Sanders plan on throwing a party for their daughter, Hannah—a sweet girl with good grades and nice friends. Rather than an extravagant, indulgent affair, they invite four girls over for pizza, cake, movies, and a sleepover. What could possibly go wrong?

But things do go wrong, horrifically so. After a tragic accident occurs, Jeff and Kim’s flawless life in a wealthy San Francisco suburb suddenly begins to come apart. In the ugly aftermath, friends become enemies, dark secrets are revealed in the Sanders’ marriage, and the truth about their perfect daughter, Hannah, is exposed.

Unfortunately this is a book that I didn’t love. I borrowed this from a coworker, because she enjoyed it and always recommends great books. This is usually the kind of story I enjoy about a family with what seems to be the perfect life until something goes wrong and turns their world upside down. The characters in this book felt one dimensional; they didn’t really change throughout the book which is expected sometimes, but in a story it’s important to see the character develop. There are a lot of other books in this genre that are more grabbing and have a more intriguing story line. 

1489343651_dr-house-eats

Throughout the book I was waiting for more action, but it never happened. The tension in this story doesn’t deliver enough compared to what I’m used to when reading these stories and I don’t think it will satisfy most readers which is why this isn’t a book I recommend. I needed this book to give me just a little more than it did. The Party needed more tension, character development, and psychological insight. Harding provided readers with a compelling plot for a suspense novel, but never pushed the book to the level of its peers.

What are your favorite suspense/thriller books?

Leave a Reply

